Journal a Day June 7- Angel Greeting Card Journal

Standard

Journal a Day June 7

Angel Journal made of recycled greeting cards with beaded spine.

This journal didn’t quite meet my hour to an hour and a half time frame but I wanted to revisit this technique I learned from Jennibellie. I opted to design my greeting card journal on a smaller scale than Jenny’s excellent work. I used five de-greeted the five inside signature cards by painting over the text, greeting and personal notes with off white acrylic paint. This does take a few layers of acrylic. You could manage the same sort of de-greeting by simple pasting paper over the greeting and personal info. I intend to use my Angel Journal as an a small art journal for my study of Archangels. So painting over the greeting allowed me to make the start of a “clean slate” on which to sketch and write.

I bound the Angel Journal using two cards that were bigger than the inside signature cards. I used a narrow greeting card as a spine for the book. I bound the Angel Journal with embroidery floss and scrap beads I had on hand. For the front choose a favorite Angel greeting card and glued the front of the card to the front of the Angel Journal.

This project was a complete scrap project. I used what I had on hand. The only thing that was purchased along the way was glue. I always have glue on hand so this project required no extra trips to the store or paper packs or other stuff.

You can make these journals quickly but if you choose the beaded spine, it does take a while. But the results are beautiful and would make a lovely gift for someone. You could also arrange the books in different themes: birds, flowers, nature, Santa, snowmen, Easter, etc.

So save your greeting cards or put the word out to family and friends that you’d like to have theirs!

Here’s the video from Jennibellie that teaches this technique.

#makeitdo

#gratefulistheword

#scrapcrafts

 

Leave a Reply

