Journal a Day June 14-The Ugly Journal

Standard

I think it’s important to post ugly art. I think it’s ok to not like a piece. Art is not so much a product as it is a process.

I am a novice artist. I don’t know about techniques and am just learning about tools. I know enough about art stuff to be wild and dangerous and abandoned when I am creating.

I know enough to make myself happy. I know enough to sooth my soul and calm myself. I am growing accustomed to channeling Spirit and just having a go at things. I slap some paint on. I play with markers. I dabble in stamps. My drawing skills are so minimal as to be laughable.

I don’t care. I cannot stress that enough. Perfection is way overrated.

Hince, the Ugly Journal. I started with canvas paper and drew circles with a set of Winsor Newton markers my pal Joy gave me. Then I brayered over the circles. Then I played with rub ons and stamps and then more brayering. Then I played with Tattered Angels glimmer mist from Peng. Then I played with shimmery watercolors. Them I played with stamp pads.

The only thing I DO like about this journal is the binding. I used a busted guitar string.

Life is short. Don’t worry about perfection. Enjoy the process. Don’t wait until you have everything you need. Don’t wait on the right time, the right tools, the right motivation.

Just do it.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

